Professional and Continuing Education
Missouri University of
Science and Technology
300 W 12th Street
216 Centennial Hall
Rolla, MO 65409-1560
Phone: 573-341-6222
Fax: 573-341-4992

Sliding Control: Theory and Applications
Sliding Control: Theory and Applications, Control Systems Forum


Speaker: J Karl Hedrick, UC Berkeley

 Tuesday, Aug. 4, 2015  |  12 p.m. CDT




In this seminar recent developments in nonlinear control theory will be presented, particularly in the area of smoothed sliding mode control that I call sliding control. The presentation will cover continuous and discrete nonlinear controller design. A new approach will be presented that combines model predictive control with sliding control that we call Receding Horizon Sliding Control. Applications from the automotive industry including power train and active safety systems will be discussed as well as the results of recent experimental validation tests.


Professor Hedrick is the James Marshall Wells Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of California at Berkeley. He teaches graduate and undergraduate courses in Automatic Control Theory. His research focuses on the application of advanced control theory to a wide variety of vehicle dynamic systems including automotive, aircraft and ocean vehicles. He is currently the Director of Berkeley’s Vehicle Dynamics Laboratory. He served as the Chair of the Mechanical Engineering Department at UC Berkeley from 1999-2004. He served as the Director of the University of California PATH Research Center, a multi-disciplinary research program located at the Richmond Field Station from 1997-2003. PATH conducts research in a variety of advanced transportation areas including advanced vehicle control systems, advanced traffic management and information systems and technology leading to an automated highway system. Before coming to Berkeley he was a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at MIT from 1974-1988, where he served as Director of the Vehicle Dynamics Laboratory.

His research has concentrated on the development of nonlinear control theory and on its application to a broad variety of transportation systems including automated highway systems, power train control, embedded software design, formation flight of autonomous vehicles, and active suspension systems.

He is a Fellow of ASME where he has served as Chairman of the Dynamic Systems and Controls Division. He is also a member of SAE and AIAA. He served as the editor of the ASME Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurements and Control.

He has been awarded a number of honors including, ASME, Dynamic Systems and Control Division’s Outstanding Investigator Award, 2000, ASME, DSM&C Journal’s Best Paper Award (1983 & 2001), IEEE Transactions on Control Systems and Technology’s Outstanding Paper Award (1998), and the American Automatic Control Council’s O. Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award (2003). He was awarded ASME’s 2006 Rufus Oldenburger Medal which recognizes significant contributions and outstanding achievements in the field of automatic control. He presented the ASME Nyquist Lecture at the ASME DSCD conference in October, 2009. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2014.